Disability Categories
Tennessee recognizes specific disability categories for the identification of students with disabilities. A student may become eligible for special education services if an evaluation determines the student meets the criteria for one or more of these disabilities.

Specific definitions and evaluation procedures can be found in the Special Education Framework Manual on the Tennessee State Department of Education’s website at:



Intellectually Gifted
Blind Language Impairments
Deaf-Blindness Multiple Disabilities
Deafness Orthopedic Impairments
Developmental Delay Other - Health Impairments
Emotional Disturbance Speech Impairments
Functional Delay Traumatic Brain Injury
Hearing Impairments Visual Impairments
Intellectual Disability Specific Learning Disability